Clock starts to tick for 2017 SELECT industry awards

Rudi Klein won the lifetime achievement award during last year’s event
Rudi Klein won the lifetime achievement award during last year’s event

As the clock ticks down towards the most exciting night of the year for Scotland’s electrical industry, the stakes have been raised once again with the addition of a brand new category to the annual SELECT awards.

Because of the unprecedented interest in the prestigious awards ceremony this year, the deadline for entries has been extended until July 14, with the judges’ deliberations scheduled to commence on July 27.

In addition to the well-established award categories - which include Electrical Contractor of the Year, SJIB/Edmundson Apprentice of the Year and Lifetime Achievement –a new prize focuses on the distributor/wholesaler with the introduction of the Electrical Distributors’ Association (EDA) Scottish Section Apprentice of the Year.

This new award reflects the increasing demand for apprentices among Scotland’s distributors and is sponsored by EDA Apprenticeships Plus, with whom the EDA partners to deliver apprenticeship training for its members.

Chair of the EDA Scottish Section, Stearn’s Kristian Van Rensburg, said: “Apprentices are the future of our sector and we want to do everything we can to encourage them. The new award is designed to recognise the tremendous contribution they make.”

SELECT, the industry body for Scotland’s electrical sector professionals, is aiming for record figures for this year’s awards ceremony which, as in years past, will be held at the stylish Radisson Blu in Glasgow on Friday October 13.

SELECT managing director, Newell McGuiness, said: “This year we will welcome entrants across a wider variety of categories and we are encouraging Members to showcase their achievements. The SELECT Awards are the most prestigious in the UK electrotechnical calendar.

“They are again dedicated to upholding and celebrating the highest standards in our industry with categories covering a wide range of disciplines and services. We will celebrate innovation and reward individuals and members across the industry in Scotland.”


Related posts