SELECT unveils nominees for 2017 awards

Winners from last year’s event
Winners from last year’s event

As the electrical trade in Scotland moves ever closer to being recognised as a profession, the industry is preparing once again to acclaim its brightest and best individuals and companies.

A panel of industry experts have selected a number of finalists in a diverse range of categories which illustrate the remarkable capabilities of what is now a high-tech, highly-qualified, science-based sector with an entrepreneurial mindset.

The organisation has unveiled the nominees who will compete against each other in a wide range of award categories at a glittering ceremony to be held at the Radisson Blu in the centre of Glasgow on Friday October 13.

In addition to the well-established award categories - which include Contractor of the Year, Apprentice of the Year and Lifetime Achievement - a new category has been added, Electrical Wholesaler Apprentice of the Year.

This new award is being promoted by the Electrical Distributors’ Association (EDA), which represents the electrical wholesale distribution industry within the UK and whose members account for some 80% of the sector.

Newell McGuiness, SELECT managing director, said: “SELECT aims for the highest standards of professionalism and workmanship. It believes that the industry should ensure professional standards of safety and competence so that customers can rely on any electrician he or she may employ.

“Electricians are dedicated, hard-working people and it is our honour to turn the spotlight on them and remind the rest of the world of how important they are to our continued economic success.”

Mr McGuiness also paid tribute to the generous support offered to the electrical sector by this year’s sponsors, who include the SJIB, Edmundson Electrical, Scolmore Group, City Electrical Factors, Electrical Distributors’ Association, EC Insurance, Schneider Electric, Blue Sky Pensions, Voltimum, Electrical Safety First, Megger and Ross Electrical.

This year’s nominees are:

Best Delivery of Customer Service 

  • AKD Systems Ltd (Edinburgh)
  • Crown House Technologies (Motherwell)
  • Ideal Electrical Solutions (UK) Ltd (Edinburgh)
  • Kenneth Ferguson (Oban)

Best Use of Training

  • AKD Systems Ltd (Edinburgh)
  • Servest Arthur McKay Ltd (Edinburgh)
  • Richard Irvin Energy Solutions (Aberdeen)

Best Visual Promotion

  • AKD Systems Ltd (Edinburgh)
  • Alba Facilities Services Ltd (Glasgow)
  • Ideal Electrical Solutions (UK) Ltd (Edinburgh)
  • Invincible Security Ltd (Ardrossan)

Best Electrical Safety Project

  • Crown House Technologies (Motherwell)
  • Edmiston Brown & Co Ltd (Glasgow)
  • Select Electrical and Mechanical Services Ltd (Dumfries)

Best Small Contractor

  • ATD Electrical Services (Kirkcowan)
  • EAL Electrical Ltd (Grantown-on-Spey)
  • Interlink Lighting and Electrical (Glasgow)
  • Kenneth Ferguson (Oban)

The Electrical Contractor of the Year, Apprentice of the Year and a special Lifetime Achievement award for services to the trade will also be made at the ceremony.

Related posts